I’m baaack!!

I am coming back to this blog after giving up on it for a while as I was just too busy. There are a few reasons why I’m starting again. The main one is that I really need to write –  I have been feeling it more and more desperately. I have put aside myself for years now while I have been busy with babies – and now I am getting to the point where I need to be able to have my own outlet. So, here I am. The other reason is that a few people have asked me to share my experiences with home educating in general, and using Sonlight, our main curriculum, in particular. If that was you, I hope you enjoy reading!

This post is going to be a news post, as life has changed dramatically in the nine months since my last post. The biggest change is that we are no longer expecting. Our fourth little blessing has arrived – little Rosebud. Bookworm, Snugglepot and Buttercup are all ecstatic big sisters. Rosebud has turned my world upside down, and completely captured my heart. She is a happy little soul, and into EVERYTHING. At seven months she is cruising along furniture – yikes! The impact on our homeschool is that we have to fit our school days around me feeding and settling her for naps. And the biggies are learning that they can’t do their bookwork on the floor while she’s crawling around. As Snugglepot says: maths + baby = soggy maths book!

In my last post last year I was discussing starting a Morning Basket time. We have been using that successfully since then – it’s a lovely and absolutely vital part of our school day. We have changed it slightly as time has gone on, and it fits us just about right for this stage of our home ed journey.  I’ll do a dedicated post on it soon. I really will. Promise. We also started using Sonlight in January. It’s an American, Christian, literature based home school curriculum that has the tagline “The way you wish you’d been taught”. Boy are they right about that. I love this curriculum – I love their books, the discussions we have, the ideas they cover. I can honestly say that we have very few complaints about school these days. They love it – and I love it too. Gone are the days (mostly) where I think “Ugh – I just can’t be bothered doing school today”. I sit down, pick up my IG (instructors’ guide), and start reading. We are using Core B (Intro to World History year 1 of 2), with Bookworm doing Language Arts 3 and Science B, and Snugglepot doing Language Arts 2 and Science A. We are still using Miquon for maths.

IMG_4714
Our first Sonlight box day. So many books!

 

Watch this space for a day in the life post so you can see what we do, and I will try to do a regular or semi regular update on our day to day activities. Forgive me if I don’t post frequently. I am a homeschooling mum with four kids, after all!

Leave a Reply

